License FAQ
What is the difference between Syn Standard and Syn Pro?
Synesthesia is available in two tiers: Standard and Pro. - Standard: Includes all essential VJ features, full scene library access, and Spout/Syphon output. - Pro: Adds advanced features like NDI, OSC, meta-controls for Audio Reactivity, and more.
You can see the full breakdown of the differences between licenses here
How do I manage my activations?
Synesthesia tracks your license activations per machine. You can view your current activations and login status in the User Account tab.
- Offline Sync: Once activated, Synesthesia can run without an internet connection for up to 30 days. The app will periodically sync your license status when a connection is available. If you have a gig coming up and know you'll be offline, it's a good idea to log in and activate your license before going offline to ensure uninterrupted use. If you need a longer offline period please contact support.
- Activation Tracking: You can see how many activations are remaining on your license directly within the account panel.
What are the Audio Reactivity Controls?
The audio reactivity controls feature for Pro level licenses adds two new controls to the meta controls: "Reactivity" and "Audio Speed." Reactivity determines how intensely a scene will react to the audio signal. Audio speed determines how fast the scene will move based on the audio reactive time variables. These controls allow you to tailor the audio reactivity of any scene.
I logged in, but Synesthesia is still showing a watermark over my content?
You still need to "Activate" a license type on this machine. After logging in, go to the User Account tab and under "License" click "activate this machine". You'll need to have a license purchased on this account and activations remaining on the account in order to activate this new machine. If you have no activations remaining on your account you'll need to remove an existing activation from a machine before you can activate a new one.
Can I transfer a license from one computer to another?
Yes. At the bottom of the settings page there is a button to “Deactivate This Machine”. You must be connected to the internet to deactivate a computer. Deactivating will revert Synesthesia back to it’s trial state on this computer, giving your license and product key a new activation that you can use on another computer.
I permanently lost access to my computer without deauthorizing Synesthesia, so I lost one of my licenses. Is there any way of recovering it?
Yes. You can log in to your account at synesthesia.live/signin to see a list of your currently activated computers and remotely deactivate a machine. The license will be immediately removed from the machine in question and you'll be able to activate it on a new machine. Note that remote deactivations per license are limited, and you should always try to remember to manually deactivate a license from a machine you are losing access to.
Can I add extra activations to my account?
Yes, if you have a Pro license you can add a +1 activation upgrade to your account from your "Account Upgrades" page within the app or on our website. At this time Standard Licenses are limited to 1 machine per license, but you can always purchase a new Standard License under a new email if you have a second computer you'd like to activate at the same time.
Is there any educational discount available for Synesthesia?
Discounts are available for students, educators, and non-profits. To apply for a discount please start by filling out one of the forms listed below. If you need a bulk license purchase for some other reason, please email us.